Adelaide mayor back for a second stint


Adelaide’s new mayor, Jane Lomax-Smith, has been sworn in, along with the new city council.

Ms Lomax-Smith was elected this month, narrowly beating former independent SA senator Rex Patrick in a decided vote on preferences.

She returns to the role she held from 1997 to 2000, having also served as a state Labor government minister from 2002 to 2010.

Ms Lomax-Smith said the new council reflected the diversity of the community and was committed to working collaboratively.

“I am confident the new council will seize the opportunity we have to reset, move forward and help the city of Adelaide reach its full potential,” she said.

“We want to play our part in making sure the city runs smoothly not just for our constituents, but for the state as a whole.”

The new board includes returning members Arman Abrahimzadeh, Mary Couros, Simon Hou, Phil Martin and Keiran Snape.

They were joined by new advisers Janet Giles, Henry Davis, David Elliott, Jing Li, Carmel Noon and Mark Siebentritt.

Similar Posts:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here